The Wisconsin Sports Awards


The Wisconsin Sports Awards is an invitation-only event of 600 attendees that celebrates excellence in Wisconsin high school, collegiate and professional sports. Guests will rub elbows with Wisconsin’s elite athletes, coaches and executives; previous guests have included: Aaron Rodgers, Mike McCarthy, Barry Alvarez, Bo Ryan, Mark Tauscher, Eddie Lacy, Herb Kohler, Wes Edens and many more.


The event, which will take place Wednesday, August 22 in Milwaukee, honors athletes and teams, and features community-minded elements with scholarships and nonprofit donations. It is broadcast live and on demand throughout the country on ESPN3.


It is the biggest night in Wisconsin Sports, and not your ordinary awards show.


For information about sponsorship or for media requests, please email Emily Dillinger.

6th Annual Wisconsin Sports Awards Winners:

Hunter Johnson, Darlington High School

High School Football Player of the Year

Estella Moschkau, Edgewood High School

Goodwill Power of Work Girls High School Basketball Player of the Year

Kobe King, LaCrosse Central High School

Rick Majerus Boys High School Basketball Player of the Year

Danny Vanden Boom, Kimberly High School Football

High School Athlete of the Year

Ian LaMere, University of Wisconsin Platteville Men’s Cross Country

Small College Athlete of the Year

Lauren Carlini, University of Wisconsin Women’s Volleyball

Marc Marotta College Athlete of the Year

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks

Potosi Brewery, Professional Athlete of the Year

James White, New England Patriots

Homegrown Athlete of the Year, presented by Cousins Subs

TJ Watt, University of Wisconsin Football

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year, presented by Wheels Up

January 24, 2017 & March 18, 2017 – the state of Wisconsin owns No. 1 Villanova:
first Marquette beats top-ranked Wildcats, then the Badgers end their

Moment of the Year, presented by The Edgewater Hotel

Paul Chryst, University of Wisconsin Football

Gruber Law Offices Coach of the Year

Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers

ATI Athlete of the Year

Green Bay Packers

American Family Insurance Dream Team of the Year

Barry Alvarez

Fiduciary Management Gamechanger Award

Nigel Hayes

Community Involved Athlete of the Year

Jabari Parker

Inspirational Athlete of the Year, presented by Husch Blackwell